Committees > Steering Committee Members | Executive Committee Members | Research Area Committees  | 
Coordinated Project Committees | Current USWBSI Policies and Procedures


Steering Committee (SC)

The Steering Committee (SC) exists to ensure comprehensive input from all stakeholders in the scab issue.  It seeks to forge consensus strategies for the the scientific, organizational, and budgetary aspects of the war on scab.  The Steering Committee will next meet in Minneapolis, MN on 4/20/17.  To view minutes from previous open steering committee meetings, please click on one of the links below:

Steering Committee (SC) Members - Updated: 3/6/17

Minutes from Open Meetings


Executive Committee (EC) Members

Updated: 1/1/17  (Go to EC's/HQ Home Page)

Mike Davis, American Malting Barley Association
Rich Horsley, North Dakota State University

Spring Wheat:
Co-Chair - Doyle Lentz (Grower, North Dakota)
Ruth Dill-Macky, University of Minnesota
Gary Muehlbauer, University of Minnesota

Winter Wheat:
Co-Chair - Dave Van Sanford, University of Kentucky
Fred Kolb, University of Illinois
Don Mennel, The Mennel Milling Co., OH

Durum Wheat:
Xiwen Cai, North Dakota State University

USDA-ARS-NPS Designatued Agency Official to the USWBSI:
Jose Costa, USDA-ARS-NPS, Beltsville, MD


Research Area Committees (RAC) Chairs

Updated: 1/9/17

FHB Management (MGMT) - Go to MGMT's Home Page
Chair, Andrew Friskop, North Dakota State University
Food Safety and Toxicology (FST) - Go to FST's Home Page
Chair, Paul Schwarz, North Dakota State University
Gene Discovery and Engineering Resistance (GDER) - Go to GDER's Home Page
Chair, Steve Scofield, USDA-ARS, West Lafayette, IN
Pathogen Biology and Genetics (PBG) - Go to PBG's Home Page
Chair, Corby Kistler, USDA-ARS, St. Paul, MN


Coordinated Project (CP) Committee Chairs

Updated: 1/1/17

Commodity-Based CPs

Variety Development and Host Resistance (VDHR) - Regional Uniform Nurseries - Go to VDHR's Home Page

  • Spring Wheat Parents (SPR) - Jochum Wiersma, University of Minnesota
  • Northern Soft Winter Wheat (NWW) - Eric Olson, Michigan State University
  • Southern Soft Red Winter Wheat (SWW) - Esten Mason, University of Arkansas